Rebel With A Cause

I am a scaredy cat.  I don’t like to do anything that that makes my anxiety exceed it’s already sky-high level.  I really strive to keep my life at a very even keel. I am a planner because I like to know what is ahead of me. I like to prepare and brace myself.  I don’t like the unknown.  I don’t like to rock the boat.  Yet, Saturday afternoon, the day AFTER I turned 30, I got a tattoo!!!  Yes, you read that correctly.  I, Rebecca E Robin got herself tatted up.  Not only did I rock the boat, I freakin’ capsized it!!

I have always wanted a tattoo.  I think I have been talking about getting one for at LEAST 8 years.  I don’t know why I wanted one so badly, but I always did.  And let’s be clear-I didn’t want some tramp stamp.  I wanted something small, chic, and meaningful.  I toyed with a few ideas-and for a while my heart was set on a small lower case “r” in Times New Roman font on the outside of my right wrist.  See, I wasn’t lying about being a planner-and a meticulous one at that.  I thought it was perfect.  Small, chic, and my name would ALWAYS be Rebecca, so I didn’t have to worry about it becoming irrelevant.  But for some reason, I could never pull the trigger.  That is…until my sister bbm’ed me one night in December.  She had also decided to get one and we were going to do it together!

I know I don’t talk about my sister much, but for those of you who don’t know her, she is LEGIT! Once mortal enemies, Katie has turned out to be one of my best friends and one of my most favorite people of all time! We are different beyond words, yet when you put us in a room together we basically morph into the same person.  We call ourselves “The Sisters Robin” as if we were some club act-which with our rhyming poems and matching harlequin jumpsuits, we totally could be. After much deliberation and scheduling conflicts, we finally decided that Saturday, February 11th was going to be the day!!

scene of the crime

Along with my friend Sara, who came for my moral support, we headed to Adorned NY to seal our fate…literally.  Usually one who suffers from severe symptoms from her anxiety, I was actually feeling pretty good that day.  I had done some massive Googling that morning of “most painful tattoos” and “tattoo care”, so I had all of my bases covered.  We walked into the parlor and it was THE cleanest space I have ever been in.  I felt very good.  Katie and I filled out some forms, handed in the sketch that we had finally agreed on, and after less than 20 minutes in the waiting area we were taken back by our “artist” Damian.

We headed back to an open room with partitions separating the tattoo-ers from each other.  I had opted to go first because I KNOW I would have chickened out if I watched Katie do it before me.  I rested my arm on a padded stool as Damian sterilized the spot and even before he started with the inking I made my sister hold my hand.  Hey, we all need a little support every now and again.  He got right to work-and it took less than 10 minutes!  I didn’t cry, but according to my sister, the tears I would have shed had manifested into gigantic beads of sweat upon my upper lip.  I got bandaged up and then sent out of the room so they could prep for Robin sister #2.  We went back in for Katie’s tat and it was as if nothing was happening to her.  While during my turn I almost broke her fingers from squeezing so tightly, she was Blackberrying the entire time she got hers.  We had to wait at least 3 hours to take off the bandage and I couldn’t wait for it to be revealed to the world!!  Luckily, we had the perfect venue to debut our new ink…my 30th birthday party!  And to be honest, I was more excited to celebrate the new body art than I was to celebrate my new decade.

See! No tears!!

I didn’t end up getting the lower case “r” that I had once dreamed about.  We got something more special, more meaningful, and something that defines exactly who we are…a Robin. Katie and I are the last of the Robin clan-and after us, the last name is going to be extinct.  I’m sure this is NOT what my Dad or Grandma had in mind when thinking about ways to honor our family, but Katie and I thought it was perfect.  No matter where our lives take us and what our last names change to in the future-we will always be The Sisters Robin.

sisters that ink together... *photo by SPG*

3 responses to “Rebel With A Cause

Leave a Reply

